Explorations Student Joins Trash Fashion Show

Explorations Academy students are an interesting group with a lot of varied talents!  Here is a report from one of our very creative students who got a creation displayed in the Trash Fashion Show our the local university.

Hi my name is Ade Lily Reakid Arin Uktubara. You could call me Adel. I’m an exchange student from Indonesia, and I’ve been studying for nine months at Explorations Academy and live with my host family, Andrea and Jim Clay and Cydnee Straussner, who live in Lynden. It was so much fun being here and learning about USA’s culture.

Last week to celebrate Earth Day, I made a trash dress from bottle caps that I got from my friend’s mom, Amanda, and also plastic bags that I got in kitchen. I made it to be party dress.

In April 23rd I attended the Trash Fashion Show at the Viking Union of Western Washington University, held by the ReStore in Bellingham. People loved it. They thought I was in the show and they also thought I was a design student at Western! I was surprised they thought I was good enough to be a college student! Well, I’m definitely a high schooler at Explorations Academy. ☺

Explore posts in the same categories: Student Activities

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

